Blindcopy

November 17, 2009

The sweetest thing.

Filed under: Uncategorized — blindcopy @ 11:42 am

Anything that has a Japanese tag inspires me. I don’t know if it’s kind of a national pride of my almost not existing Japanese half or what it is. Maybe it’s only a spleen everybody has for anything. However, after my obsession for Comme des Garcons (my mum and my sis could tell you funny stories about that) and Yohji Yamamoto in the 90s I recently discovered Tsumori Chisato. I’d instantly describe her design as “very Japanese” although she doesn’t have anything in common with my old puristical, avant-garde Japanese fashion icons. It’s sticky sweet, sometimes almost going over board. But it’s also as funny as cute and I love all the delicate details and the fancy shapes.

So I went to that Tsumori Chisato flagship store at DIFC Gate Village, tried on a couple of things just to find out that no matter what I tried I looked like my Japanese grandma in – what she called – her house dress. I bet the sales assistant must have had a jolly good time. I’m simply not that quirky kinda girl. Sigh. Doesn’t matter. I keep on enjoying Tsumori Chisato’s stuff online, in magazines and in the shop windows. Hope you enjoy it, too.

(All images via Humor.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

