Blindcopy

January 4, 2010

The New English.

Filed under: Uncategorized — blindcopy @ 9:19 am

While my friends already started to collect china and tableware in the days when we went to school I was never into collecting anything apart from music (in every possible way, CDs didn’t exist) – let alone collecting tableware. Sadly it shows today as our dishes consist of an eclectic mix from different Ikea generations and seasons. But I always found it rather square or tacky to collect something that would add up to a complete range ready to be used in maybe 20 years time. And what would my friends use their china for after all – for Christmas dinners once a year? This is stupid, I thought back then.

Today I know that this thought was stupid. Today I envy my friends for their tableware that might not be the latest in ceramic design and fashion, but definitely something of personal value. Today I do keep an eye on tableware. I still prefer our eclectic Ikea mix of plates and bowls, though but I love special and delicate ceramic pieces for decoration. This is when The New English eccentrics come into play.

I got super inspired when I read a NY Times Online article about Paul Bishop and his company, The New English, producing dinnerware with a radically different look — “think skeletons, bugs and tattoos instead of flowers, garlands or pastoral scenes. Working with Master of Arts ceramic design students at Staffordshire University, Bishop has put together a collection of bone china designs that would knock Jane Austen for a loop.” The New English represents a totally new approach to ceramic design that engages, provokes and inspires.

Anatomica plate by Lisa Turner.

Inkhead teacup and saucer by Florian Hutter.

Entomo plate by Monica Tsang.

(Images courtesy of TableArt)

And there’s even more amazing dinnerware – this is actually not the right term for those pieces of art in my opinion – available if you search the Internet for The New English. I took the following images from the MA Ceramic Design Catalogue 2009, Staffordshire University, Faculty of Arts, Media and Design. For more information, contact Paul Bishop or Professor David Sanderson at info@thenewenglish.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

