Blindcopy

June 1, 2010

Rob Wynne.

Filed under: Uncategorized — blindcopy @ 1:01 pm

Art can be so many things. Some like it beautiful, some like it disturbing… Rob Wynne‘s installations are definitely on the beauty side even though his huge mushrooms have something to them which irritates me. Maybe it’s their size or their flashing colours, which kind of scream “Try me” (I would call it the Alice-in-Wonderland effect). I discovered his work through the brilliant AnOther Magazine. His texts – poured and mirrored glass installations – are kitsch and decorative at first sight. But the visual effect that they look like they are almost melting – dripping kitsch – adds a quite ironical element to them. I like them a lot and I do find them very decorative (sorry Mr. Wynne) – but in the best possible way!

(Images via Rob Wynne.)

Permanent installation at Dior, Paris.

Rob Wynne also made some beautiful pieces of jewellery:

Matter of taste. I do like the blood "stains".

I couldn't wear it because I'm such an Arachnophobic, but I find it very delicate though.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m not sure if I find his art too decorative/kitschy or just the right amount of entertaining (I think I would like to see them in real life), but his jewellery I love. Bloodstains are great and I would even wear the spider ring (daughter of a zoologist isn’t allowed any animal phobias 😉

    Comment by Sabine — June 1, 2010 @ 10:32 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

