Blindcopy

August 23, 2010

It’s in the air.

Filed under: Uncategorized — blindcopy @ 9:14 pm

After my devastating attempt to cook a balsamic honey chicken with baked potatoes – one of the easiest recipes obviously, but I bloody failed – the entire house smelled of caramelised onions, burned chicken and dripping, which made me really sick. I decided to buy scented candles even though I’m really peculiar when it comes to scents (I hate the smell of fried stuff as much as I hate an obtrusive perfume). And I found those by Votivo at Bloomingdales (yes, the exact same Bloomindales I never wanted to buy anything from. But the smell of the candles was simply too good and the sales assistant was OK, even though she wanted to show me four other candle brands after I already told her that I’m really happy and wanted to buy the Votivo ones. Anyways…). They have a really subtle scent, very natural. Hmmm… lovely. Shame you can’t smell them via my blog.

By the way: The smell of burned chicken disappeared by itself after one day.

1 Comment »

  1. I think we must not underestimate the art of chicken making. My hubbie has – after long and intensive studies – decided for the Heston Blumenthal version, which includes baking for hours at 70 degrees. You do understand that I would NEVER ever dare to make an attempt myself at this serious activity – BUT I do love scented candles, and I’m already wrecking my brain which ones to get for this winter. Votivo… great tip, will check and report back! (My all time favourites were Annick Goutal ones…. mmmmhh…)

    Comment by Sabine — August 23, 2010 @ 11:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

