Blindcopy

December 20, 2010

Shopping Heaven Vol. 3: Shibuya.

Filed under: Uncategorized — blindcopy @ 3:17 pm

Sorry for the little break, but I really had to spend some time in the here and now. I was already suffering from a serious post-Tokyo depression, everything in Dubai seemed so dull, empty and dumb. So as much as I actually didn’t want to go back to normal life – I had to. Also for the sake of my friends and our cats – I guess it’s not really pleasant to have a frustrated, sad and bored Kazuko around, who keeps on complaining how limited life in Dubai is.

I think it’s safer for me now to go ahead with my Japan posts…

Did you watch Scarlett Johansson in Sophia Coppola’s Lost in Translation wandering through Tokyo, looking up to all the glittering advertisement screens and stumbling through the masses? Many of the scenes were shot in Shibuya. And whenever a TV documentary talks about masses or busy traffic you can be sure – it’s the famous Shibuya crossing they show as the extreme example.

If you’ve stepped out of Shibuya Station and mastered the crossing, countless huge department stores and designer flagship stores are waiting for you to be conquered. There is for example the eight-storey Opening Ceremony, a super cool concept store with super sweet staff. The stylish sales assistant wouldn’t become tired of showing my sister numerous versions of one and the same coat only because the colour of the collar sliiiiightly varied from coat to coat (honestly, I – fashion victim No. 1 – didn’t see the difference. He had to point me to it). My sister bought the coat and the prettiest flap jeans I’ve ever seen. I hope she’s going to make some pictures so I can show you.

I went to Miu Miu, looking forward to it since I had not been to one for ages (we don’t have it in Dubai) – but to be honest: compared to the other stores it appeared to be quite boring.

When you turn to the side streets you’ll find one bar, pub and restaurant after the other. And like in so many other areas of life in Japan, traditional and modern are right next to each other, so you can choose if you prefer sushi and sake or burger and beer.

2 Comments »

  1. The post-travel blues is something terrible, but I’m glad you’ve started posting about Tokyo again… It sounds like such an exciting city and Shibuya seems to equal Times Square in NY or Piccadilly Circus in London.

    Comment by Sabine — December 20, 2010 @ 8:30 pm

  2. i can understand…

    Comment by THE DIVINITUS — December 22, 2010 @ 12:35 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

